Travel Log #10 “Encountering Globalization” By Andrew Rivera Barcelona, Spain

When traveling, the places you go, people you meet, and the sites that you see open your eyes up to a whole new world. I can now say that I have been to some of the most beautiful cities in the world. I feel very blessed because I know there are tons of people in this world that have nothing, and for me to experience this is once in a lifetime. Some of the people that won’t ever get to travel the world are the people who live in poverty in the video The Travels of a T-shirt in the Global Economy. These people remind me of some of the everyday things that I see when I am in Barcelona. For example, there are always street vendors with knock off soccer jerseys, handbags, trinkets, shoes, and so much more. When one of the interviews was taking place I connected these two people because of how they are making a living. In part one of the video he says, “To afford school, I started going into the woods, to collect firewood and I would carry it on my head and try to sell it.” He did this even though it was illegal to do so, these people have the hardest work ethic that I know of. They will go above and beyond to make money even if it means rolling the dice. The street vendors here in Barcelona are also rolling the dice because if they are caught selling they can be fined and possibly detained. It was eye opening that this is how some people make a living. But it is good to see because it gives you motivation to be something more than that, given our different situations.

In my experiences traveling to the Netherlands, Italy, Spain, and Hungary, I can solemnly say that I have encountered globalization every day. From trying to order a meal in full on Italian, trying to find my way around Budapest, or speaking Spanish to the grocery store clerk, the amount of international influence has been tremendous. I think that language barrier is one of the hardest parts about traveling in Europe, especially when you get to the outskirts of a city you are less likely to find someone that speaks English. Some of the ways that I am contributing to the flows of globalization is in school. One of the biggest aspects of my Spanish civilization and culture class is connecting parts of history and art from Spain and relating them back to something in the United States. This is great because it makes you think about the two sides and gets you familiar with a culture that you aren’t accustomed to.

One quote that I liked from the reading The Global Transformations Reader was when he says, “I want to emphasize [globalization’s] complexity and diversity.” This stuck out to me because I totally agree with what he is saying. Everyplace has its different aspects. No matter if you travel to a neighboring town or major city, everyplace is different and everyone is different. If you go to Barcelona and Madrid the experience will be different not just because it is a different place but all that make the city a city. The people, buildings, and sites are different. And experiencing everything makes you a part of globalization.

I think that our definition of global community is a great one. I wouldn’t take anything away from it, I believe that it covers all angles of what globalization actually is. I think that we should add a little bit of the human rights into our definition because we are all equal and everyone deserves a fair chance of impacting their culture and others alike.

I chose this picture because I shows that there are all walks of life and how a piece and really bring people together. No matter what you look like, where you are from, who you know, the “I Amsterdam” sign brings everyone together which is great for the city and meeting new walks of life.

IMG_5145.JPG

 

One thought on “Travel Log #10 “Encountering Globalization” By Andrew Rivera Barcelona, Spain

  1. Hey Andrew,
    Your connection to the street vendors in Barcelona is great. It is sad that people have to resort to illegal things just to survive. I feel bad for the vendors who are always running around with their huge sacks of merchandise, just trying to make a few bucks. I’ve noticed how the majority of their products are knock off American things. It just goes to show how real globalization is and how greatly it is affecting countries around the world.
    Ryan

    Like

Leave a Reply

