Nicholas Daniele – Barcelona, Spain

I chose to study abroad because everyone said it was one of the best things they have ever done. I have not talked to one person who said they had a bad time studying abroad. I chose Barcelona because I have never been to Spain before. I knew I wanted to go to Europe and travel everywhere. I decided to start with Spain because I have been to Italy, France, and London. Spain is a country that has always interested me due to its culture and love for sport. I also hear that Barcelona is rather lively.

I think this trip abroad will solidify my rite of passage from teenager to young adult or from young adult to adult. Even though I am twenty-one years old, I do not view myself as an adult. I still view myself the same as I did when I was eighteen years old. With all these experiences, responsibilities, and independent opportunities in the unknown, I think I will realize that I am an adult and not a teenager anymore. A quote that I think suits my view on this whole abroad experience would be to be one of the ones by Slimbach. He states that “the very act of moving from one place to another helps create a space where we can bump up against strangeness and reexamine some of the settled assumptions we hold regarding the world—and ourselves.” I think this quote coincides with that I mentioned earlier about the opportunities and experiences into the unknown. I do not know what exactly I am getting into – how could I? But I think going to Barcelona for a semester is going to challenge my assumptions about living among foreigners. I am going to figure out which are true and which are not.  After all, they are assumptions – not facts. It is going to be interesting to see how the assumptions I have gained through living at home fair against the facts of living abroad.unnamed

Leave a Reply

