Meghan Thorogood – Florence, Italy

Hi! I’m Meg and I am currently a sophomore here at Quinnipiac University. I am excited to share that I have recently declared my major in Interdisciplinary Studies with a concentration in education on the 5-year Masters of Arts and Teaching track. Although deciding on what major to declared was difficult for me, deciding to study abroad was not. I love to travel. Being able to experience different cultures first hand rather than reading about them in textbooks or stories by word of mouth is something I am passionate about. I believe we can learn so much about others, and ourselves, by embracing ourselves in cultures foreign to us. With this in mind, I decided to study abroad in Florence, Italy. I’m not sure if11182084_831728960215270_9127684493667159911_n it’s because I am a quarter Italian or just the pure beauty of the country’s geography, but something about Italy has always fascinated me. Knowing I wanted to study abroad in Italy, picking Florence as my city of study was not difficult. With it’s deep routes in history that runs through the cobblestone street combined with aspects of modern society, I knew Florence was for me. Besides it’s beauty and history, the size of the city attracted me because it isn’t too small or too big, it is just right.

I am excited to embark on this once in a lifetime experience. To be able to step outside my comfort zone and have new experiences is something I am looking forward to. One quote that inspires me and that I am going to keep in mind during my time abroad is from the book Becoming World Wise by Richard Slimbach. The quote says, “In order to make fair and illuminating comparisons between cultures, we must temporarily suspend our largely inherited values and beliefs without flaunting or renouncing them” (Slimbach 164). By having no preconceived notions or judgments
about the different cultures I encounter, I believe my experiences will have a greater impact on me.11183370_831333993588100_185671178329623508_n

Leave a Reply

