Emily Drinkwater- Seville, Spain

Hi my name is Emily Drinkwater and I’m a junior marketing major here at Quinnipiac University. I have always wanted to study abroad since as long as I can remember. It was always a part of my plan no matter how many people tried to sway me otherwise. The reason I ended up attending Quinnipiac University was because their study abroad program was so well done and extensive. I always thought it was crucial for someone to travel and allow oneself to put themselves out there and learn more outside of the lives that they live every day normally. The only problem that I had in the study abroad process was figuring out where I wanted to go. There were so many countries that I wanted to go to and explore their various aspects that made them each unique that pinpointing one to live in was a real struggle. I ended up deciding on Seville, Spain through many meetings with Andrea Hogan and Erin Sabato. They were able to put me in touch with a variety of people that traveled to the areas I was interested in and Seville ended up having everything I was looking for in a program and it was close to other areas that I wanted to travel to as well.

I can foresee using my growing knowledge about the traditional Rites of Passage during my study abroad experience. It will allow me to easily transition into a new life in a new country. I will now know what feelings I could or should be having and experiences that I may go through during my travels. Also it will help me how I can deal with what is happening psychically and emotionally to me and who I should be spending my time with; either companions and/or mentor figures. A quote that really stuck out to me during this workshop was that, “the very act of moving from one place to another helps create a space where we can bump up against strangeness and reexamine some  of the settled assumptions we hold regarding the world- and ourselves.” This really stuck out to me because it’s saying that we all have a preconceived idea about how other countries are and how the people of that area live and we really don’t think that the way of life could be different than what we had originally thought. But when we see something different and we aren’t used to it, we have to reevaluate are thoughts and ideas about how we view something. I feel like this is something that will consistently be happening while studying abroad and traveling. But at the end of the day I have been looking forward to this experience and I can’t wait for the day finally come that I board the plane and start my semester abroad to make many memories to come.

img_1863

headshot

Leave a Reply

