Cord Belding – Barcelona, Spain

I chose to study abroad because I want nothing more than to see the world and really visualize another way of living outside of my own.  I want to experience something that really takes me out of my comfort zone and forces me to grow as a person.  If there’s any kind of experience that can really transform me, it will be studying in a country like Spain, in a city like Barcelona, where there’s a language barrier and an entirely different way of living.

Barcelona has always been on my radar as a place I’ve wanted to go.  From studying Spanish all through high-school, I had a sense that Spain would be a place I would want to study abroad.  I had also heard of my friends from Quinnipiac who had already gone abroad to Barcelona and said it was the greatest experience they’ve ever had.  My Rite of Passage is a very personal one (obviously), because I technically don’t have the GPA needed to study abroad, but I was approved to go anyway because of my determination to fix my issues from first semester freshman year.  For me, this Rite of Passage is more than a fun trip, it’s something I’ve been working towards for 2 and a half years actively trying to better myself, my rebirth.

The most important thing we learned today, for me, was the idea of a mentor.  I strongly believe that we all need guidance in life and the idea of a mentor is very important to me especially.  I need someone to show me the ropes and give me the tools to succeed, it’s what I do after that with the tools that make me who I am.  A mentor can be the difference between making the right choice and the wrong one, and when abroad it’s exponentially more important.

Leave a Reply

