Andrew Rivera – Barcelona, Spain

Traveling has always been a goal of mine and what better way to travel than to study abroad in Europe. Any place in Europe would have been a good choice but I decided to choose Barcelona Spain. Being in Europe it gives me the opportunity to not only explore my host country of Barcelona but also the surrounding countries like France, Germany, Italy, and many more. Barcelona is full of rich history and traditions, and I have heard many stories and experiences that have made me choose it. Being in Barcelona I want to develop an understanding of their culture and how they live. I would also like to learn as much Spanish as possible to make it easier for myself to interact with the locals.

I see my knowledge of traditional rites of passage developing me into a new person. Just as any new experience you go through changes you, I feel as if studying abroad is an example of this. You are totally changing your environment, from being so far from home, having the people around you speaking a whole new language, and living in somewhere you barely know anything about, there is no doubt in my mind this will change my outlook and make me a wiser and mature person. These new experiences will make me learn and evolve into the person I will be when the whole trip is over.

The only things that you will regret in life are the chances that you didn’t take and this is a chance and opportunity that I just cannot pass up. Traveling to Barcelona and Europe for 4 months out of the year is an experience of a lifetime and this will stay with me forever. “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” This quote is exactly how you want to live life, and take every opportunity you have. It’s not every day you get the chance to travel for 4 months at a time.

img_5048

Leave a Reply

