Travel Log 1: Laying A Foundation by Mazel B. Genfi Bronx, New York

Two weeks before I leave and it still hasn’t hit me that I will be spending 3 months in another country. Throughout the duration of the summer, everyone has been asking me if I’m excited. My response has always been “I think I’ll be excited when I get on the plane.” I don’t know why I feel this way, but I just do. It really hasn’t hit me yet. I remember in the workshops that the pre-liminal  phase  as the phase before you leave and the emotions that comes along with it.  I have yet to feel any emotions toward my upcoming trip.It’s so hard to let my old self die and prepare for my new self when I keep returning to old settings. I would really love to focus on London, but it’s like every other week I’m back at the Q.

I have all these goals and aspirations for this trip and I feel nothing right now. I feel so weird about it. I’ve spend most of the summer doing Orientation at school, so somewhat it feels l haven’t really dislocated my self from what I see as normal. So I’m going into this trip the best way that I know how to: Winging It.

“The journey of the wise and resourceful travelers doesn’t begin at the point of taking up residence in a foreign country.” (Slimbach 127) However, that is exactly what I am doing. I believe my whole life has been this unplanned maze & that is the best way I’ve gotten through it. Yes, I planned for me to go to London, but did I plan for what I’m about to do there? Absolutely not. I just know that I have to make the most out of this experience. I tried to plan this trip out, but it quickly went left. For example, I have changed my schedule more than 6 times this past summer.

A concept that makes me feel okay with my decision to wing it is the trailer of the Wizard of Oz  that we watched in the workshops. Dorothy had no idea of where she was going and hadn’t really planned on the adventure. She just sort of rolled with the punches and found herself home.

That will be in two weeks: rolling with punches until I get myself back home.

While reading Becoming World Wise by Richard Slimbach, I realized how little research I’ve done about where I’m going. In the chapter, “Carrying Knowledge” , Slimbach talks about researching one’s destination before arriving to assimilate better. To be quite frank, I haven’t been doing that. The only knowledge I know of England is from my former camp counselors and what my friends who went abroad have told me. Maybe I should do a little more research because all I know is “trainers” translated to American english is sneakers.

I have the things to help lay some type of foundation, but I need to use it more. For instance, the travelogue that I have chosen to guide me on my impending travel is “Londoners: The Days and Nights of London Now- As Told by Those Who Love It, Hate It, Live It, Left It, and Long for It” by Craig Taylor. Since there is so much insight from different point of views with various emotions, I think I can learn from it. It can help me develop some type of emotions for trip. I just hope I feel the excitement and nervousness eventually.

Leave a Reply

