Rachel Marino -Florence, Italy

I chose to study abroad because this opportunity will be a unique experience unlike any other that I will embark upon in my life. I am eager to learn more about the culture I grew up always getting a taste of. When I was a kid, m1380699_10100973237950410_2005313551_n copyy cousin studied in Florence for a semester, when I watched her depart on her adventure, my dreams were born to pursue a study abroad experience myself. I hope to see many different countries but I think Florence is the perfect place to call home. This central location in Europe opens many doors to traveling not only around Italy, but also to many countries throughout Europe. The Rites of Passage theory will be my guide for the personal growth that I anticipate. This theory helps me to know a bit of what to expect from myself and gives me a blueprint to build the framework that will allow me to create a journey specific to my own curiosity. Mark Twain once said, “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” This quote embodies how I have dreamed of my experience in Florence. These words will mold my character into someone who takes chances I wouldn’t have taken prior to traveling to Florence. Conversely, the opportunities I choose to fulfill will layer my character and create depth to the person this journey will produce.

 

Leave a Reply

