Michael Raimondo – Florence, Italy.

I chose to study abroad because I have a strong intellectual curiosity regarding the world I live in. I chose this particular location because I am very interested in history, especially the ancient Romans and Greeks. Florence seemed like a more quaint city in comparison to Rome and my cousin had suggested I study in Florence and travel to Rome as well as other various locations in Europe. In regards to the traditional rites of passage, I intend to go

Photo of me

Michael Raimondo, Fall2016

through a threshold of specific challenges that I will overcome to exploit the full extent of my study abroad experience. As a luminoid, I will not succumb to the obstacles that are presented to me but will rather take them head on and use them to my advantage to learn and create a strong comunitas. One specific quote from the workshop that inspires my future endeavors abroad is, “The purpose of education is to show a person how to define himself authentically and spontaneously in relation to the world” – Thomas Merton, Love and Living.

 

Leave a Reply

