Micaela Buttner – Goldcoast, Australia

I chose to study abroad because it is the one time in my life that I can take a break from reality to travel. Being a health science major has caused many stressful nights and more than a handful of breakdowns. I want to go to grad school to become a Physician Assistant, and from many people have been told how hard it is. I believe that taking a semester off to clear my head and do what I always wanted to do, which is to travel, will be very beneficial for me. I also don’t come from a family that has a lot of money, so financially this is the best option for me as well. I love adventure and excitement. I love seeing new places and experiencing new things. Money can sometimes hold me back from being able to do those things. Through studying abroad, I am able to use my financial aid towards it in order to help with the cost.

Screen Shot 2016-04-24 at 2.34.26 PM

Micaela Buttner, Spring2016

As I stated previously, I love adventure. This is a major reason why I chose Australia, besides the fact when will I ever have enough time to travel all the way across the world. When I think of Australia, I think of new opportunities. I think of sky diving, bungee jumping, climbing the bridge in Sydney, attempting to even stand on a surfboard, hiking, waterfalls, soaking in the sun on the most beautiful beaches, and coming face to face with animals I’ve never seen before, but always dreamed to. I will never have an opportunity like this ever again in my life, so there is no way I could ever pass it up. Being a senior while I go is definitely an emotional one for me, considering it is my last year at Quinnipiac; however, two girls in my sorority went to Australia as seniors and have strongly encouraged me to do it. In a quote by Mark Twain it says, “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” I have always wanted to go abroad, but coursework wise it was difficult. With switching my career track last minute, it forced me to only be able to go my senior year. It was a really big and difficult decision, but I knew I would live with regret my whole life. So I accepted that fact and applied to study abroad so that I could have the best experience of my life.

I never thought about the going abroad experience so thoroughly as I did before these workshops. The Rites of Passage theory will definitely have an affect on my trip. I know I will change, but I also know it is not a bad thing. When I leave on that plane out of Boston, I have to accept the fact the person I will be in that moment will never be the same again, and I don’t want to be. Now knowing this theory, I want to be aware of everything around me and take it all in. This class will definitely help me explain to friends and family exactly what I went through so they will have a better understanding of how and why I will be that new person. I am extremely excited for the journey that awaits me.

Leave a Reply

