Mazel B. Genfi- London, England

When I say, I haven’t been anywhere. I HAVEN’T BEEN ANYWHERE. The last time I flew on a plane I was four . And, even being from New York City, trust and believe me when I say I’ve only been to like two landmarks! I’m from a city that people that would dream to visit and experience and I haven’t done that myself. Choosing to study abroad has been a major goal of mine since high school. Now that I have the opportunity, I’m glad to say that I’m going  I call this trip abroad my self-journey trip. A trip to know myself a little bit better and love life a little bit more.

InstasizeImage (2)

“I would like to travel light on this journey of life, to get rid of the encumbrances I acquire each day…I come to be only as I lose myself” – Madeline L’engle

 

This quote embodies everything that will mean something to me on this trip abroad.

Going to London is my chance to be that person that gets to visit the city of their dreams while getting an education.  I have always dreamed of going to London. It’s one of the greatest cities in the world! You have Big Ben, The London Eye, The Royal Family, and most of all, Harrods! I want to be able to look back on life and say I’ve visited these places. I want to have pictures to show and put up on my walls. I want to meet my family members my mom has always talked about, but I never got to meet because of the distance.  Just thinking about all the things I get to do, makes me excited.

The three phases of the traditional rites of passage are separation, liminality, and reincorporation.  As I go “across the pond”, I already expect the separation aspect. I’m leaving my old self: the regular degular girl from the Bronx  to my new self; which is currently in Limbo. I have no idea what I’m getting myself into and I have no idea who I’ll be towards the end of the trip. However, I expect G R O W T H and that is what I’m prepared. I can say that I am not really prepared for anything, but the growth from this journey is one thing I expect. No excuses.  

Leave a Reply

