Travel Log 7 “Global Responsibility” by Marcquan Berlin, Germany


I was once again introduced to the terrible events of the Rwandan genocide through the movie Shake Hands With the Devil. Having seen movies such as Hotel Rwanda and learning about the genocide in tenth grade I once again could not believe my eyes. The lack of help from different countries actually surprised me. This movie gave me a deeper understanding than what I have learned in both my history class and from Hotel Rwanda. I learned that after a while the Hutus and the Tutsi people could not coexist with one another anymore. It eventually became a power struggle. The Hutu could not face  their potential of being the minority and a civil war broke out.


Sadly there we so many human rights violated during the civil war between the Hutus and the Tutsi’s. There were two human rights that really caught my attention. The first one was “Everyone has the right to recognition everywhere as a person before the law” (Universal Declaration of Human Rights). After reading this I thought to myself, “Where was the recognition of the people of Rwanda? Why weren’t people more eager to help them.” I feel that as a global community we failed to realize that a group of people in our community were hurting and needed our help. Not many people wanted to help, but all the rest of the community wanted to do was report it across many different platforms of media.

Another human right that stood out to me was, “everyone has a nationality…no one shall be arbitrarily deprived of his or her nationality.” This human right I found to be bizarre. Why? I found this bizarre because during this genocide people were fighting for their nationality. They (mainly the Tutsi’s) were being deprived of who they truly were and were unable to embrace their cultures because they wee afraid of being murdered by the opposing group of people. Both Hutus and Tutsi’s could not coexist with one another because of an unfortunate power struggle. I think the the list of human rights must be more prominent in our everyday lives and should be more implemented into the classroom all over the world. This can potentially help stop violence amongst nationalities and have human realize from a young age that everyone deserves the right to live.

The picture I chose to describe this is a political cartoon about peace. In this situation peace was a foreign concept, between these two cultures there was no type of peace or consensus. This picture shows people seeing the peace symbol for the first time and not understanding what it actually is.

travel log 7 pic.jpg

This entry was posted in Foreign Chronicles, Spring 2016, Uncategorized by Marcquan. Bookmark the permalink.

About Marcquan

Hello all, my name is Marcquan, but most of my friends call me Marc. I am a sophomore biology major and spanish minor and I go to college in Connecticut. I have a knack for fashion journalism, so my blog will be based on mainly men's fashion. I might venture into women's fashion, but I am not too sure... who knows! Feel free to share my blog or submit posts and I will upload them to my site! See you around my Parrisians.

One thought on “Travel Log 7 “Global Responsibility” by Marcquan Berlin, Germany

  1. Marcquan brought up some incredible points about the tragic Rwandan Genocide. I found his paragraph on the natural human right to a nationality interesting because it is not only a right threatened by genocide but also by globalization. Marcquan’s ideas made me wonder if all conflicts, such as the many Genocides of the past, come down to races who think they are “superior” feeling threatened by other nationalities, and as a result spreading globalization in a negative and violent way. This revelation made me realize that globalization is not always a passive, non-violent occurrence like I previously thought. In reality, many of todays conflicts come down to these seemingly superior nationalities wanting all other nationalities to be gone or to be more like them. As global citizens it is our responsibility to not let violent globalization occur, and that starts with preventing future genocides, by making “never again” actually mean Never Again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

