Travelogue 2: Rites of Separation, Looking behind and looking ahead- Mitchell Trulli North Reading Ma

The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page” – St. Augustine

This quote means a lot to me because of my family motto “carpediem” which means sieze the day. My family has always encouraged each other to try new things and never miss an opportunity that is presented to us. Traveling abroad will allow me to sieze every travel opportunity I can cheaply and effectively which as stated by this quote is necessary to experience as much as possible. I shared my separation letter with my mother and father at dinner time. They are funding the trip and have always encouraged me to travel abroad as they did, they are worried that they will not have contact with me for long periods of time and I clearly outlined in the letter that I will keep in contact but cannot have that be a hindrance to my experience. I am fully prepared to engage in this opportunity and travel abroad, I am very excited to sieze this as I have no strings holding me back and I will be able to fully immerse myself easily and quickly. I will measure my travel abroad success through a plethora of different points. Firstly I would like to travel as much as possible, if I can reach at least five different countries I can classify this portion a success. I would also like to befriend multiple foreign nationals, which will require me to learn Spanish. This may be the most challenging part of my travel abroad experience as I have taken Chinese for the past 4 years and have little to no Spanish fluency. I have started to learn basic Spanish online and have downloaded software to help me learn as quickly as possible.
I will absolutely have to learn to deal with the unexpected as easily as possible. Luckily I have a few very good friends traveling abroad with me, which will help a lot. Friends are my main line of support and having a few good ones around me and living with me will make the whole experience seamless. The only thing that will be difficult to accept is what I have heard about the attitude of men towards women in clubs in Spain. I have heard that the attitude men have is considered disrespectful to Americans. Although I can understand that it is a different culture and I am a guest in their “home” so I am supposed to immerse myself into their culture and accept their ways of doing things.

I chose a picture of a skier at the top of a mountain because my journey is just beginning. All the preperation to get me to this point is the applications, packing, planning is the chairlift up and now I am ready to start my journey. I have the whole ride down that will begin with a plane ride over and I don’t know what to expect, but I am more excited than ever.

Red_1-1024x638

2 thoughts on “Travelogue 2: Rites of Separation, Looking behind and looking ahead- Mitchell Trulli North Reading Ma

  1. I really like the analogy that you used to describe the beginning of your journey, it paints a clear picture as to what you are expecting and knowing how a mountain works, there are going to be a lot of twists and turns to get to the bottom, but by the end of that journey you will have learned a lot. I commend the fact that your going to a foreign country that you know very little about the language. I was always told the best way to learn a new language would be to immerse yourself into the culture that you are hoping to learn and you will eventually pick it up. I know that a journey like this isn’t easy, but having your friends with you will make it a lot easier since you will have them to rely on and they speak the same language as you so if you’re feeling down or just cannot get a grasp on the language in the beginning at least there is hope. Seize every moment of your journey and maybe we will see each other in a foreign country as I too hope to travel as much as possible.

    Like

  2. Hi Mitch! I love that your family’s motto is “carpe diem” because that’s always been one of mine too, and I think that it is the perfect thing to have in the back of your mind at all times while studying abroad especially. I got the feeling from your post that you are really not worried at all about living in another country for four months and immersing yourself in another country. Because of this do you think your liminal phase will be very short in comparison to others abroad? I also have gone into this experience with very little worries, however I do think that everyone runs into their own personal issues or “tricksters” at some point. What do you think these will be to you? It’s interesting how you pointed out the way men treat women in Spain, and how that differs from American culture. If faced with a situation in this cultural difference how do you plan to deal with it?

    Like

Leave a Reply

