Travel Log 2 “Looking Behind and Looking Ahead: Rites of Separation” by Kari Julien Trice- Tolland, CT

I decided to write and share a letter with my roommates and closest friends from school. I met my friends when it was my spring semester of freshman year here at Quinnipiac University. I had gone through a bad breakup over winter break and meeting these girls really changed things around for me. We hung out a few times during the spring semester of 2014, and I grew really close to my friend and current roommate, Janessa. We all decided to live together for sophomore year in Hill. That year turned out to be one of the best years of my life. I grew so close to the girls I lived with that year that I now consider them to be my family.

As we are all entering our spring semester of junior year, a few of us have decided to study abroad. I have the opportunity of traveling to Barcelona with my best friend Janessa. A couple of my other roommates are going to Washington D.C. for the semester, and a few will be staying at QU for the springtime. We are all excited to take these opportunities of studying in different places, however, it recently hit us all about a month ago that we are going to be separated for a whole semester. I wanted to share my separation letter with my friends before leaving. During the winter break we all decided to meet up on New Year’s Eve to ring in 2016 together. I decided to share my letter on New Year’s Day at my friend Bree’s house in Long Island, once we all woke up, because some of my friends had to leave earlier than others.

Before sharing my words to my friends, I was a little anxious to see their reactions. I read my letter aloud and then let them each pass it around after if they wanted to read it again to themselves. It was a bit of an emotional moment, because we have not been separated for so long before, and I actually started to tear up a little. We have always made time for each other over the winter and summer breaks. My friends were very touched by my letter and we each hugged each other after I shared it. They expressed how they were happy and excited for Janessa and I to be studying in another country, and I explained how appreciative I am of everyone that was in that room. We discussed that during the spring semester, once we all figure out our schedules, we will setup a couple of group Oovoo sessions during the semester, so that we can stay in contact and learn more about what is going on in each other’s lives.

 

“No distance of place or lapse of time can lessen the friendship of those who are thoroughly persuaded of each other’s worth”

Robert Southey

I think Robert Southey’s quote is perfect for my current situation of being separated from my friends. I really value my friends at QU because they have lived with me, have seen me at my worst moments, and they have all supported me in everything that I do. I think that with this semester we are going to have a healthy separation and it will actually strengthen our friendship. With today’s technology, we are really able to stay more in contact with each other too. I explained to my friends the idea of the Rites of Passage theory. By this experience we are creating more opportunities for ourselves as we separate and go beyond to build our careers. I am confident that this experience will be healthy for our friendship, and we will each grow.

At this point I am now feeling more prepared to study abroad. I think that a successful education abroad includes expanding your knowledge, opening your mind, emerging in the culture and growing as an individual. I accept and am expecting the unexpected to happen. When I go abroad to Spain, I will be traveling with an open mind and positive attitude. I am excited to learn about a new culture and experience a more diverse community.

The picture that I chose here to share is an image that I think best describes my feeling a few days before my departure. In four days I will be stepping onto a plane to travel to a different country. For four months, I will really be away from home, my family, and my friends. The picture says, “Great things never came from comfort zones.” I am taking a big step out of my comfort zone by emerging myself in a new and foreign culture, and I know that because of this opportunity I am taking, I will learn so many new things and will have an unforgettable experience.

travel log 2

Works Cited:

Southey, Robert. “Distance Quotes.” BrainyQuote. Xplore, Web. 08 Jan. 2016.

Image from Sevenquotes.com

One thought on “Travel Log 2 “Looking Behind and Looking Ahead: Rites of Separation” by Kari Julien Trice- Tolland, CT

  1. I can relate to Kari’s experience with her friends. In my blog I wrote about my friend Amelia. I have been concerned that she will want to stay in contact like we do when we are both at school. However, as we have learned in the rites of passage theory, communication in that a constant manner can become a trickster and prevent us from entering a full liminal phase. In fact I am more concerned about my friends wanting to talk all the time than I am about my own family members.
    I think that Kari’s quote does a really nice job depicting what a healthy separation is for best friends. I even sent it to Amelia and she loved it! Although we will always appreciate our friends support its time to go experience a new culture with new friends and I could not be more excited to get started!

    Like

Leave a Reply

