Travel Log 14: “Global Connections & Rites of Separation” by Bryan Riemer. Cork, Ireland

In order to become a ‘global citizen’ I first had to make ‘global connections’. Now this does not necessarily mean that I just had to meet people from other countries and have a conversation with them, it is more about how I can recognize their cultural differences and allow those differences to have a personal positive impact. I hope to be able to read about a country that I have been to and/or met someone from and have a more globally precise opinion on the situation rather than an Americanized opinion. Once I make ‘global connections’ I can then move forward onto becoming a ‘global citizen’ which involve me having an intellectual conversation with those I met from other countries and having someone I can possibly stay with when visiting their home country in the future. Since I am an American and was raised believing that certain countries are worse than others I will always have a small bias, but the more I learn about those countries that I was taught were bad the more I will be able to make a personal opinion. And only when I am able to make an informative opinion about global crisis will I be able to consider myself globally citizen.

The only solution to solving any problem is with multiple minds working on it at the same time. As Albert Einstein once said, “No problem can be solved from the same level of consciousness that created it” (P.51). I see this quote as a good explanation of the quote that I was asked to analyze and discuss which is, “If we allow, global learning will not only carry us into the world around us, but also into the world within.” (P.54). Einstein’s quote pairs well with this quote because anyone can travel abroad and have experiences that they may never forget but if those experiences are not shared with others then it is almost as if they never really traveled abroad in the first place. This is also true about any problem an individual may have. If the individual can’t communicate their problems with others then how do they expect to solve them?

To properly separate myself from Ireland I have chosen to walk through the streets of Cork and take a picture of any place that I have been to during my time abroad. I will do this over an afternoon and hopefully enjoy this experience. I will not just take the pictures and move onto the next location, I will remember all of the times I spent there and how those experiences changed my overall thoughts of my time studying abroad. For most of these places I will most likely go inside and grab a pint or a snack and get one last mental image of where I have spent the last four months of my life. Prior to leaving I will also try and say goodbye to all of those that I have met and befriended while in Ireland.

In order to accomplish this large task of saying goodbye to everyone I have befriended I was thinking about coordinating a farewell dinner for everyone with the best fish and chips in all of Ireland, Jackie Lennox. I will hope to have a conversation with every individual about how they made my time in Ireland better with their presence and give them my contact information so we can all stay in contact when I return home. I just hope that people will have time to meet considering it is finals week. When I return home I will certainly miss Ireland and will need some time to re-adjust to driving on the right side of the road again. Besides that I will also realize how much I have learned during my time abroad and how I will be able to use my new skills and knowledge in my everyday life.

Leave a Reply

