Athena Rine- Seville, Spain

Mark Twain once said, “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” I could not think of a better way to express why I want to study abroad. I chose to go abroad mainly because I have never heard anyone say that study abroad was not the most amazing experience of his or her life thus far. I want to come back in 6 months and saying same thing. Although I am excited to be spending my college years at Quinnipiac University, I waIMG_0637nt to make the most of my college experience and involve myself in as many new and exciting challenges as possible so that I can grow and develop as an individual to my fullest potential. I want to get out of my comfort zone and immerse myself in a new culture. I want to learn about new groups of people, new ways of thinking, and new traditions, all while discovering who I am in the process. I chose to study abroad in Spain in particular because I feel that I have an introductory-level understanding of the art, music, literature, and language from the courses I took in high school and my freshman year of college. There is no better way of learning more about a country than to live in it and involve yourself in everything there firsthand.

I think that learning about traditional rites of passage will greatly influence my study abroad experience because it will make me much more aware of my transitions throughout my travels. From the time before I leave the United States up until and after my return I will become a new version of myself. I believe that the most effective, successful, and beneficial way to do this is to recognize the small changes that contribute to my transition, this way I will be able to acknowledge how my experience has transformed me into the new person I will be at the conclusion of my trip.

Leave a Reply

