Kari Trice- Barcelona,Spain

My name is Kari and I chose to study abroad because I heard so many wonderful things from my sister who studied in France during her college years, and I know that this is going to be an unforgettable experience. I chose this particular location because I have been interested in the Spanish culture since I was young and I have been trying to learn the Spanish language and culture since middle school. As a Spanish minor, I know that traveling to a spanish-speaking country would be beneficial to my education. I have learned so much about the culture already through my courses here at Quinnipiac, and I know that emerging myself in the country will be even more beneficial. My parents have both expressed high interests in me taking this opportunity, since neither of them were given it in college.

I think that I will gain more knowledge of the culture when I go to study abroad in Barcelona. I think the Rites of Passage theory will greatly affect my study abroad experience. This is a big opportunity that not many others are able to take. This journey will be a big step in furthering my education and helping me to grow as a human being. With this course I will be able to learn even more than other students that are studying abroad. This experience will open my mind and increase my knowledge as a college student.

The study abroad experience is an incredible opportunity and journey to take. “Go forth seeking adventure. Open your eyes, your ears, your mind, your heart, your spirit and you’ll find adventure everywhere” (Wilferd A. Peterson). This quote stood out to me because it just reminds us that during this experience we should keep an open mind to get the most from our travels. It is important to accept the diverse cultures that we will be emerging ourselves into.

Kari profile pic 2016

Leave a Reply

