Travel Log 2: “Rites of Separation: Looking Behind and Looking Ahead: Expecting and Accepting the Unexpected” Madeline Eldredge, Harwich MA.

Coping with the reality that I was leaving in a week was hard. I never was a person to really express my emotions or how I was feeling so when my parents and close friends could see how leaving was affecting me, I knew it was going to be an adjustment. I had already shared my separation letter with my parents when I went home for a weekend before school was over so I knew I had to share it with my best and closest friend, Christina. In life, I feel that we all have that one friend that completely understands you inside and out without a single negative judgment in their minds; this friend would be Christina in my life. We have been inseparable friends since our freshman year of high school and I know being away from her for 4 months was going to be strange.

When I met up with Christina to share my separation letter, she surprised me with an “Ireland Going Away” care package. It had a journal, a few books, snacks, and other essentials to traveling abroad. We sat down and I explained the background information regarding the class and the purpose of the letter. She understood and ultimately loved the overall idea of the letter. I explained the different Rites of Passage phases and how the second phase, Liminality, was going to be the main issue for me. I told her that in order for me to let go and experience this beautiful country, I was going to need her to ignore me when I complain about how much I miss home.

I went for a walk around the center of my town by myself to really experience where I grew up to try to create some sort of comparison to Ireland by December and to also add to my memoir project at the end of this semester. What I saw was a lot of people that I knew from the dayImage result for journey not destination I was born. I also saw a lot of tourists trying to find their way around and I found myself almost immediately judging them but then I realized that I would be placed in their shoes in less than a week. A quote by Ralph Waldo Emerson that really stuck to me as I was on social media one day was “Life is a journey, not a destination.” I love this quote because I find that I tend to spend too much time worrying about the small “what ifs” and the future too much without really enjoying the present moment. I think Ireland will be a great time for me to create my own

journey and adventures and to take in every single moment.

http://checkin.trivago.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/10/2013/11/7Life-is-a-journey_fb.png (image 2)

2 thoughts on “Travel Log 2: “Rites of Separation: Looking Behind and Looking Ahead: Expecting and Accepting the Unexpected” Madeline Eldredge, Harwich MA.

  1. The quote you have chosen is this passage is great. I think so many times in life we get caught up with just getting from one place to another that we forget that the important stuff happens along the way. This saying is so applicable to the study abroad experience that we are about to embark on. Sometimes you will get lost in the middle of the city or take the wrong train and end up somewhere entirely unexpected, but that could turn out to be an amazing experience. Enjoying each moment that we are given on this experience will be essential to getting the most out of it. Good luck and enjoy Ireland!

    Like

  2. Maddie, I like that you took the time to walk around your hometown by yourself and really take it all in. In a different way, I thought a lot about my home town and all of the people and places in it before leaving. I knew that when I came back from Ireland, I would look at these familiar places/people in different ways. While this is a positive thing, I also took the time to remember what it felt like so that when I returned home I could also compare it to living in Ireland. I think that it also important that you have let your best friend know to ignore you when you complain of missing home. It is important that our family and friends help us get adjusted here in Ireland.

    Like

Leave a Reply

